Epping Ongar Railway

This was a beer festival with a difference and one that I really enjoyed..

We arrived via bus with a group of friends at North Weald Station Essex, part of the Epping Ongar Railway where an army of volunteers have worked tirelessly to restore the tracks, signaling, buildings and platforms back to the 1940’s era.

photo 1

photo 4

photo 2

photo 5 photo 1

including the trains….!!!!!    And for £10 you can go for rides all day long on any train

One diesel …….

photo 2

the other STEAM !!!! …..

photo 1

and you were allowed to have a beer on the train…

Oh my hat …I was in heaven

photo 2

 I took the ride from North Weald to Chipping Ongar Station and rather than return via train I returned via ‘Route 339’ heritage bus service that is included in the cost of the ticket.

Here it comes now down the High St….

photo 2 photo 3

and for a moment I couldn’t see how to get on…..

photo 2

then suddenly realised….oh yeah….the back…!!

photo 3

and off I went …..

photo 4

photo 4 photo 5

back to North Weald where there where more heritage buses to admire

photo 1

but none as smart as mine 🙂

photo 4 photo 5 photo 1

For the rest of the afternoon I lingered on the platform in the warm Essex sunshine, enjoying different stouts and watching the trains enter the station, blowing off steam, re-coupling and leaving the station on its next journey.

photo 3

The smell of a steam engine…the taste of a good beer….the warmth of the sun on your back…..

Heaven ……

Stay Posted   Love L

3 thoughts on “Epping Ongar Railway

  1. That would have been a great day. We have several CDs of English trains you might enjoy. Loved the buses, I travelled on those double deckers in my youth…in Melbourne. I always thought they would topple over when going around corners.

    Like

  2. Ahh Lulu what a great day out!! – The big black steam engine is the same that used to pull the coal carriages to Melbourne when I lived in Yallourn. Same with Pam’s comment above I always feel the buses are going to topple going around corners!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

